FLASHBACK: Lost Valentinos


LOST VALENTINOS were an electronic act from Sydney, consisting of a total of 11 people at various stages of their career. Their final line up before going on a hiatus consisted of Jono Ma (guitar/keyboards), Andrew Santamaria (guitar), Patrick Santamaria (bass guitar), Nik Yiannikas (vocals) and Simon Parker (drums).

The band played a part in the rise of the indie dance music scene, which peaked between 2007-2009, alongside artists such as THE PRESETS, CUT COPY and DIGITALISM.

Previously known as THE VALENTINOS, the band released their debut self titled EP in 2005, which was produced by Kim Moyes of THE PRESETS. Two fairly recognizable names, Kirin J Callinan and Daniel Stricker, were both apart of this release. Kirin was also in the relatively successful band MERCY ARMS and is now a solo producer, while Daniel is the current drummer for MIDNIGHT JUGGERNAUTS. On this EP you’ll find their first single ‘Man With A Gun’, which received consistant airplay on Triple J.

Before their second EP ‘Damn & Damn Again’, which was produced by Nick Littlemore of PNAU fame, Jono Ma replaced Kirin. These two then decided to collaborate together in the ever-changing side project F.L.R.L. (FASHION LAUNCHES ROCKET LAUNCHES), which also involved members of MIDNIGHT JUGGERNAUTS, DANIMALS (JONTI‘s older band), GHOUL and GHOSTWOOD.

Throughout 2008 and 2009 in Sydney, London and Berlin, LOST VALENTINOS recorded their only album ‘Cities Of Gold’ with the help of Ewan Pearson, who achieved previous production success with THE RAPTURE and THE CHEMICAL BROTHERS. It featured four singles, ‘The Bismarck’, ‘Serio’, ‘Midnights’ and ‘Thief’.

What have they been doing recently?

Jono Ma and ex-GHOSTWOOD member Gabriel Winterfield make up JAGWAR MA. This year they’ve been playing at massive festivals all over the world including Glastonbury, Reading Festival and Australia’s Splendour In The Grass. They also supported FOALS on their European tour.

Andrew and Pat Santamaria host the epic Motorik parties (and record label) in Sydney with Angus Gruzman, Frank Xavier (both of THE FINGER PRINCE) and Vi Hermens, who helped setup Picnic Touring & Events. Andrew and Pat also produce and DJ under CSMNT61.

Simon Parker toured as the drummer of CATCALL‘s live band in mid-2012. Prior to that he played in a band called DARK BELLS with ex-MERCY ARMS member Ash Moss and Teneil Throssell.

Nik Yiannikas provided vocals for two of THE ASTON SHUFFLE‘s tracks ‘The Surface’ and ‘Into Forever’ from their debut album ‘Seventeen Past Midnight’, which was released in 2011. He also displayed his vocal talent in the CSMNT61 track ‘Keep Holding On’, which was released during the middle of last year.

To one of the most underrated Australian artists from the past 10 years, cheers for the music and memories!

Words by Tony Kingston





During the week Tony works in a busy retail corporate office. Once day becomes night, there’s a good chance you’ll see him at a gig or DJing at a house party.