Motez Drops New Single ‘Own Up’ & Announces National Tour

1540364_630714593633035_555076879_o

MOTEZ is probably one of the biggest names on the Australian club scene, particularly as of late. The Baghdad-born Adelaidean was actually classically trained in his younger years as a pianist. It is in his latest single ‘Own Up’ that we truly see the inklings of his music career’s previous stint.

The single is set to be officially released through Sweat It Out Music on the 13th of June. To celebrate the release of this truly huge original, MOTEZ is also treating Australia to a national tour.

‘Own Up’ is essentially this dance number framed by dainty piano chords, and accentuated by the direction the vocals seem to take in leading the track. The synths sit comfortably underneath the vocalist, but rather than being “just another backing track”, it plays an innovative role and works in diverging the vocals, and forging an entirely different path altogether. The track as a whole is essentially this fusion of genres, creating one huge reason to dance.

MOTEZ will be heading to Australia and New Zealand over June/July/August in support of ‘Own Up’. Beginning on the Gold Coast, he’ll cruise around to Auckland in early July, and back to Australia for a couple more dates, including Splendour in the Grass in July. Check out the dates and venues below, you won’t want to miss this one.

‘OWN UP’ NATIONAL (+NZ) TOUR DATES

Sunday June 8
Nautic Giants, Gold Coast

Friday June 20
Secret Warehouse, Adelaide

Friday June 27
The Factory, Sunshine Coast

Saturday June 28
Venue TBC, Brisbane

Friday July 4
Platform, Auckland

Friday July 11
Star Bar, Bendigo

Saturday July 12
Anyway, Melbourne

Wed July 16
Akuna Club, Perth

Thursday July 17
Eureka Hotel, Geelong

Friday July 18
Meche Nightclub, Canberra

Saturday July 26
Splendour in the Grass, Byron Bay

Saturday August 2
To Be Announced, Sydney

Words by Caitlin Medcalf

LISTEN TO NEW MUSIC HERE

SEE ALSO:

HARDSTRAYLIA FT. CLOCKWORK, DESTRUCTO, OLIVER, MOTEZ, MR CARMACK & MORE
GOLDROOM ‘EMBRACE’ (MOTEZ EDIT)
MOTEZ ‘HOLD TIGHT’

About:

No idea where she’ll be in 10 years, but as long as she has a good record and a glass of white wine, she’ll be sweet.