LISTEN: Youth Lagoon ‘Mute’


Youth Lagoon has released a new track “Mute” off his upcoming album Wondrous Bughouse. It’s anything but mute with heavy layering, electric guitar and drawling psychedelia that showcases the expressive instrumentals (not that it’s usually easy to hear Trevor Powers’ vocals).

Youth Lagoon made a strong mark in the Australian music scene last year, fresh off his 2011 release The Year of Hibernation with performances at Splendour in the Grass including national sideshows.

The track opens with bubbly Californian pop before exploding into the sentimental vocals enveloped in swirling synth. He maintains a dreamy, celestial ambiance but this time it’s canopied in a darker enigmatic sound.

Youth Lagoon breaks it down at 1:30 into abstracted instrumentals before picking up the energy again at the end. The six-minute track touches on the edge of heavy rock with a warm whammy and lo-fi crinkle. He’s certainly upped on the production since his last album.

Wondrous Bughouse is set to be released on March 5th.

01. Through Mind and Back
02. Mute
03. Attic Doctor
04. The Bath
05. Pelican Man
06. Dropla
07. Sleep Paralysis
08. Third Dystopia
09. Raspberry Cane
10. Daisyphobia

Words by Antigone Anagnostellis



Dubbed most likely to revitalise the hippy movement at the end of high school, Antigone is secretly working on a time warp back to 1969.